Jquery Dialog Test

ICC bans Denesh Ramdin for two matches

Published 10 June 2013
ICC bans Denesh Ramdin for two matches

Denesh Ramdin has been fined 100 per cent of his match fees and has been suspended for two ODI matches by the ICC. The West Indies wicket-keeper has been found guilty of a Level 2 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct during the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 match against Pakistan on Friday.

The incident occurred in the ninth over when Misbah-ul-Haq edged a delivery from Kemar Roach to Ramdin. Despite failing to cling on to it, Ramdin sneakily chucked the ball aside after grassing it and claimed the catch. It was only until television replays confirmed the same, it became evident that Ramdin hadn’t caught the ball cleanly and that Misbah wasn’t out. Ramdin was found guilty of displaying "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game".

The charge was laid by the on-field umpires Steve Davis and Nigel Llong, third umpire Tony Hill and fourth umpire Richard Kettleborough. Ramdin pleaded not guilty to the offence and, in accordance with the provisions of the Code, a full hearing was held on Monday, with ICC match referee Chris Broad appointed to adjudicate the matter.

Broad, explaining his decision, said: "This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game. I hope Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."

All players found guilty of a Level 2 offence at a hearing have the right to appeal to a Judicial Commissioner, within 24 hours of receipt of that decision.  Based on the outcome of the appeal, the sanction imposed will apply.